Essence of Ashtavakra Gita – Chapter VII

King Janaka reflects on caution and clarification in the words of Sage Ashtavakra, and replies as below:

My mind is like a vast ocean. Waves (of thoughts and emotions)  rise, clash, move and fall in mind, just as in the ocean.

World itself is a creation of mind. It floats and drifts in my mind, like boat caught in the wind.

I, myself, just as the infinite ocean, am not affected by rise and fall of waves or drifting of boat. (It affects me when I am concerned about it; only such subjective context)

I am not within boat, or any object for that matter. I am  neither attached to any of these, nor I truly have any desire for these.

That is, when my mind is attached to these, all these had influence on me in the context. Devoid of attachment now, these  holds no significance for me any longer.

What is  there for me  to accept or reject, as  pure consciousness?

2 Responses to “Essence of Ashtavakra Gita – Chapter VII”

  1. Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda Says:

    There are two sorts of things viz.the good and the pleasant; the former deals with spiritual affairs, and the latter with mundane matters. Both these are open to man for acceptance. He has to think and choose one of them. The wise man prefers the good to the pleasant, but the unwise through greed and attachment chooses the pleasant.

  2. Essence of Ashtavakra Gita – Chapter VIII « My world, my philosophy Says:

    […] Janaka’s thoughts now indicate a definite balance and clarity, the sage Ashtavakra replies clarifying and reassuring as […]

Leave a Reply

