Essence of Ashtavakra Gita – Chapter II

Tone of discussion here is distinctly different from that of Bhagavat Gita.

In Bhagavat Gita, advice is given to an Arjuna who is emotionally shattered, in the middle of battle field. On the other hand, King Janaka is already an enlightened soul, leading a pious life, in midst of privileges, responsibilities and problems of routine life, as different from world of a hermit who has dedicated his life completely to spirituall pursuits.

King Janaka’s questions are of subtle nature that one experiences as one tries to adopt values and ideologies into practical life under pulls and pressures of every day. Though himself a hermit, sage had come to the King for realizing a specific mission, and had successfully accomplished that mission. He is aware of subtle dimensions of questions of King Janaka and answers are given in that context.

King Janaka understands advice of sage, in context, and brings out his thought process declaring that, indeed, I am the pure awareness beyond natural causality, spotless and at peace with itself and everything else. I realize that I am the spirit that enables the body and everything else. My essential nature is Shining, and nothing else.

My everyday perception is that I am the body. Closely linked is the perception that I am part of world,and there are many things in the world that are different from me.

Perception of a world as different from me, and relating every experience in the prism of my mind, is at the very heart of all human sufferings. Bubbles, forms and waves in water are water only, though it appears differently. These appear to me as different because I have chosen to observe them as differently.

Reality presents itself, as I remove the subjectivity in my perception, in the light of knowledge of my true self just as I see rope, that appeared as snake in the darkness, a a rope. I realize that all these notions begins and ends in me, just as a vessle made out of clay end up as a clay eventually

My body, and even the whole world, is meaningful for me only in the context of my awareness. That is, it is me that gives light to body and to the world. Therefore, either the whole world is me, and mine, or nothing is. There is nothing specific about my body (which I normally perceives to be me) that does not apply to world.

There is no bondage from which I need to be liberated, as all my bondage was making of my own mind. Notions of body, bondage, heaven, hell etc vanishes naturally, with the realization of my true self as pure consciousness. My experiences are like waves of ocean moving in the wind of consciousness, rise, clash and fall happening all within myself

I am not a living being, as in the normal usage of the word ‘living being’, where we are concerned about its contextual existence, behavour patterns, etc. That leaves me in a situation that there is nothing left for me to do as I am only awareness, not a doer. What difference it makes if I am in the midst of of people or lost in a desert?

One Response to “Essence of Ashtavakra Gita – Chapter II”

  1. Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda Says:

    *Our senses have been created by God with a tendency to move outward and so, man always looks outward and not inward. He, who wants self-realization and immortal life, must turn his gaze inwards and look to his inner self.
    *Excerpt from Sai Baba`s discourse on Brahma-gnyan.

Leave a Reply

