Strength of character!

There was a time when I was proud of my possessions, and money in my hand. Then I realized there are things still beyond my reach, and they cannot be traded with my possessions or money… and if I am measured by money, then what I have is not even a speck in the wealth of world… again, what am I worth when I do not have any money or possessions?

There was a time when I was proud of my knowledge, and the knowledge I shared. Then I realized that knowledge that I possess are not created by me but rather given to me by this world, people who walked ahead of me. If I am measured by knowledge, then I am not even a drop in the ocean of knowledge… again, what I am worth when others too have gained my knowledge?

I understand that character is what defines me, or for that matter any one. Contours of character is marked by values. It is hard to hold on, when values are challenged. They will get challenges, for sure, during hard times. If values are compromised, then character was only a perception

Love, empathy, honest, … may help you or backfire on you? But can you afford to compromise? Character and values, I believe, are not a matter of convenience but rather reason for the very existence of the individual and defines the individual

3 Responses to “Strength of character!”

  1. Mathe Koshy Says:

    Great post! very true.

  2. Saju Balakrisnan Says:

    Sir,

    “Love, empathy, honest, … may help you or backfire on you?”

    I think it depends upon how we look into it.I believe it helps.

    “But can you afford to compromise? Character and values, I believe, are not a matter of convenience but rather reason for the very existence of the individual and defines the individual”

    I think if it helps then it is convenience.

    • Vinod Varma Says:

      Saju,

      There are times in life when even fundamentals get questioned. For instance, dividing line between love and desire is very thin at times. Desire is associated with possession while love is associated with concern and care. Therefore, love is considered to be on a higher plane.

      But, when concern and care is extended with expectation of reciprocation, it hurts when there is no reciprocation. … and then there are times when what you are doing with all good intentions, backfires. That is, leave alone absence of reciprocation, it hurts in return; it hurts even more

      Then, comes the realization that you love not because someone asked you to, not because of any compulsions, not because you wanted anything in return but rather you love because you love. Same goes for other factors as well.

      Why you do what you do is determined by your character rather than any external factor; nor is it limited by reactions outside of you

Leave a Reply

