Ashtavakra Gita

Many think of philosophy as something complex and abstract. For me, philosophy is about knowing the very foundation of very existence, and related actions. Philosophy without practical relevance is mere lip service and practice without philosophy is mechanical. Yet at times, I find conflict, and books, friends and reasoning help to reconcile

At this point, I am reading Ashtavakra Gita; more specifically, I am reading interpretations in Malayalam by Gyananandasaraswathi. Those who are interested in original text may get the same at http://sanskritdocuments.org/all_pdf/ashtgita.pdf

I intent to share here my thoughts on the same, in forthcoming blog postings. Posting here will be largely my thoughts evolved out of reading the book. These are not commentaries, in the conventional sense. Therefore, I will not be following typical fashion adopted by commentaries wherein meaning and interpretations of each stanza are given.

Leave a Reply

